World

Google to auto-delete your data, location history, others

Google to auto-delete your data, location history, others

Google has begun auto-deleting new users’ search data and location history on a rolling 18-month basis to tighten privacy settings. This was disclosed by the Chief Executive Officer, Sundar Pichai, in a blog post published by the tech giant.

The initiative, which was introduced on Wednesday, is the latest attempt by a big online firm to boost public trust after hefty fines were levied against Facebook and Google for privacy violations in recent years.

ALSO READ:

Pichai said, “We believe that products should keep your information for only as long as it’s useful and helpful to you. The changes were designed to keep less data by default.

“When creating a new Google account, your activity data will be automatically and continuously deleted after 18 months, rather than kept until you choose to delete it.”

Current users can already opt in to auto-delete their data every three or 18 months — a setting that has not changed, although existing users will be reminded of the option to do so.

Smartphone location technology has been in the spotlight as governments study or implement app-based initiatives to prevent the spread of the coronavirus, despite concerns over privacy and civil liberties.

Pinchai, also head of Google’s parent company, Alphabet, asserted that “privacy is at the heart of everything we do” in his blog post.

He detailed other changes including easier access to privacy settings within apps and to the more secure “incognito” mode.

“New users of Google’s subsidiary YouTube will also have their search data auto-deleted after 36 months,” Pinchai added.

You can View Us on Facebook

Related Articles

Back to top button